Sixteen Manitobans joined the 2011 Players Cup

Local flavour in the Players Cup Hosted by Jonathan Toews has increased dramatically in 2011. Sixteen Manitobans will contest the $200,000 Canadian Tour event including seven amateurs.Last year, the Players Cup, one of the tour’s elite events, had room for only nine Manitoba players and one amateur.

There, it was already a good day for locals, as 2010 Manitoba junior champ Aaron Cockerill of Teulon and Bel Acres led the field.

He was joined by Pine Ridge pro-shopper Josh Wytinck, Southwood’s Adrian Kibsey and Fargo rookie pro Tom Hoge.

It was learned that Pine Ridge’s Brad Kirton and Calgary’s Drew Hartt, who lost in a playoff for the final two spots, were accepted into the tournament anyway, and they were joined by the qualifier’s official alternates, Eric Johnson of Breezy Bend, Ryan Bonni of Rossmere and Jesse Skelton of Breezy Bend.

All of them will join tour members Adam Spiers, Scott Loewen and Matt Johnston as well as host pro Shane Dick, Tyler Mancini, former Manitoba Open champ Rob McMillan, Dean North and Manitoba amateur champ Peter More.

Winnipeg Used Honda CR-V
Used Honda Winnipeg
Winnipeg Air